Periscope is a live streaming app that lets you share and experience live video from your mobile phone. When connected to Twitter, Periscope users can allow other users to see links tweeted in order to view the live-stream. Those watching the live stream can send ‘hearts’ to the broadcaster by tapping on the mobile screen as a form of appreciation.
You can read more about how Periscope could be used in this blog post.
The videos can be viewed live or for up to 24 hours on Periscope. They will then disappear. However it is possible to save the broadcasts as videos on your device and then you can upload to your chosen space e.g. YouTube, Vimeo or Dropbox
There are two ways you can save a broadcast.
After ending a broadcast, tap ‘Save to Camera Roll’ or ‘Save to Gallery’ on the information panel to download the video stream to your phone. (Android users – depending on your Android device, the broadcast might save in your gallery or your video app.)
Only your video stream is saved — chats and hearts are not.
To automatically save ALL video streams to your camera roll:
- Navigate to the People Tab.
- Tap the Profile icon in the top right corner.
- From your Profile page, tap Settings. (scroll down to find this)
- Turn on ‘Autosave Broadcasts.’
Once you’re done, your broadcast should be available in your Camera Roll (iOS) or Gallery or Video app (depending on your Android device).
Periscope Help (Twitter)